WWE Championships

Divas Championship

Divas Championship

[box type=”info” align=”alignleft” ]The WWE Divas Championship was announced on June 6, 2008 by then SmackDown General Manager Vickie Guerrero as a counterpart to the Raw brand’s WWE Women’s Championship. The word “Diva” in the championship’s name refers to the pseudonym WWE Diva, which WWE uses to refer to its female wrestlers. On April 13, 2009, the title was moved from the SmackDown brand to the Raw brand as a result of then-Divas Champion Maryse being drafted in the 2009 WWE Draft.
On September 19, 2010 at the Night of Champions pay-per-view event, self-professed co-Women’s Champion Michelle McCool defeated WWE Divas Champion Melina, retiring the Women’s Championship and unifying it with the Divas Championship. The title is now accessible to both WWE brands and the champion can appear on both shows.
The inaugural champion was Michelle McCool, who defeated Natalya on July 20, 2008 at WWE’s The Great American Bash.[/box]



# Superstar Reign Date Location Event Notes
19 Kaitlyn 1 January 14, 2013 Houston, TX Raw 20th Anniversary special As announced by SmackDown’s General Manager Booker T, if Eve had gotten herself counted out or disqualified then the title would have changed hands.
18 Eve Torres 3 September 16, 2012 Boston, MA Night of Champions
17 Layla 1 April 29, 2012 Rosemont, IL Extreme Rules Layla pinned Brie Bella to win the title from Nikki after the twins switched places during the match while the referee was distracted.
16 Nikki Bella 1 April 23, 2012 Detroit, MI Raw This was a lumberjill match.
15 Beth Phoenix 1 October 2, 2011 New Orleans, LA Hell in a Cell
14 Kelly Kelly 1 June 20, 2011 Baltimore, MD Raw This was a “Power to the People” special episode of Raw, where Brie Bella’s opponent was determined by a fan-voted poll. Kelly Kelly received the highest number of votes over Beth Phoenix and Eve Torres.
13 Brie Bella 1 April 11, 2011 Bridgeport, CT Raw
12 Eve Torres 2 January 30, 2011 Boston, MA Royal Rumble This was a fatal four–way match also involving Layla and Michelle McCool.
11 Natalya 1 November 21, 2010 Miami, FL Survivor Series This was a handicap match also involving Layla as Michelle McCool’s tag team partner.
10 Michelle McCool 2 September 19, 2010 Rosemont, IL Night of Champions This was a lumberjill match where the Women’s Championship was unified with the Divas Championship. The title subsequently became accessible on both the Raw and SmackDown brands and was briefly referred to as the Unified Divas Championship, keeping the lineage of the Divas Championship whilst the Women’s Championship was retired. Layla was unofficially the co-champion during this reign; she defended the championship in McCool’s place on some occasions, but was not officially recognized as the title holder.
9 Melina 2 August 15, 2010 Los Angeles, CA SummerSlam
8 Alicia Fox 1 June 20, 2010 Uniondale, NY Fatal 4-Way This was a fatal four–way match also involving Gail Kim and Maryse.
7 Eve Torres 1 April 12, 2010 London, England Raw
6 Maryse 2 February 22, 2010 Indianapolis, IN Raw Maryse defeated Gail Kim in the finals of an eight diva tournament to win the vacant title.
Vacated January 4, 2010 Dayton, OH Raw WWE vacated the title after Melina sustained a torn anterior cruciate ligament, which sidelined her from in-ring competition.
5 Melina 1 October 12, 2009 Indianapolis, IN Raw
4 Jillian Hall 1 October 12, 2009 Indianapolis, IN Raw
3 Mickie James 1 July 26, 2009 Philadelphia, PA Night of Champions
2 Maryse 1 December 22, 2008 Toronto, ON SmackDown! Aired on tape delay on December 26, 2008. Maria was the special guest referee. The championship became exclusive to the Raw brand on April 13, 2009 when Maryse was drafted from SmackDown.
1 Michelle McCool 1 July 20, 2008 Uniondale, NY The Great American Bash Michelle McCool defeated Natalya to become the inaugural champion.




Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

To Top