Wrestling News

NJPW Announce Return Of Super J-Cup, Hosted In USA

NJPW announce the return of the Super J-Cup, taking place in America in August of this year.

One of New Japan’s most beloved wrestling events is returning, and going international for the first time.

At the post-Dominion press conference, New Japan announced that the Super J-Cup is returning after a three year absence in August of this year. They will also take place in venues across the West Coast of America.

Starting on Thursday, August 22 at Temple Theater in Tacoma, Washington with the first round before moving on to the San Francisco State University Student Life Event Center in San Francisco, California for the second round on Saturday, August 24 and concluding on Sunday, August 25th with the semifinals and finals in Walter Pyramid in Long Beach, California. 

Participants for the Super J-Cup have yet to be announced, but it will be a 16-wrestler tournament and will feature entrants from NJPW, ROH, CMLL, and other promotions. Legendary junior heavyweight wrestler Jushin Thunder Liger, who is in the final year of his storied career, will produce the Super J-Cup.

Tickets for all three shows will go on sale on Monday, June 24 at noon Pacific time/7pm GMT/8PM BST

Comment

To Top