WWE Championships (Retired)

WCW Tag Team Championship

WCW Tag Team Championship

[box type=”info” align=”alignleft” ]The WCW Tag Team Championship came to the WWE in March 2001 when the WWF bought the bankrupt World Championship Wrestling (WCW). The new acquisitions resulted in the WCW Tag Team Championship becoming another championship for the WWF competed for in the “Invasion” storyline. In 2001 at Survivor Series, the WCW and WWE Tag Team Championships were unified and the title was retired.
The title shares the NWA and WCW lineage since it is essentially the same title. The first champions were the Minnesota Wrecking Crew, who won the championships in 1975.
Before the promotion’s purchase, the final champions recognized by WCW were Sean O’ Haire and Chuck Palumbo; they were also the first champions under the titles operation in the WWF. On November 18, 2001, the championship was deactivated after its use in the Invasion storyline. The title was unified with the WWF Tag Team Championship, and the final champions recognized by the WWF, were the Dudley Boyz (Bubba Ray and D-Von).
The title was won in Australia, Canada, Germany, and the United States. Harlem Heat (Booker T and Stevie Ray) held the most reigns as a tag team (10), and Booker T held the most individual reigns (11), which is the same amount of times the title was vacated. At 282 days, Doom’s reign during WCW’s NWA withdrawal was the longest in the championship’s history. Overall, there were 143 title reigns.[/box]



Title RetiredNovember 18, 2001Greensboro, NCSurvivor SeriesDue to the ending of the Invasion storyline and the liquidation of WCW, the WCW Tag Team Title was unified with the WWF Tag Team Titles.
142The Dudley Boyz
(Bubba Ray Dudley and D-Von Dudley)
1October 23, 2001Omaha, NESmackDown!The WCW Tag Team Championship and WWF Tag Team Championship, which were both held by The Dudley Boyz at Survivor Series, November 18, 2001, beating the Hardy Boyz (WWF Tag Team Champions), were unified. As a result, the WCW Tag Team Title was deactivated while the WWF Tag Team Title remained active.
141The Hardy Boyz
(Jeff Hardy and Matt Hardy)
1October 8, 2001Indianapolis, INRaw
140Booker T (11) and Test1September 25, 2001Dayton, OHSmackDown!This title change aired on tape delay.
139The Brothers of Destruction
(Kane and The Undertaker)
1August 7, 2001Los Angeles, CASmackDown!This title change aired on tape delay.
*138Natural Born Thrillers
(Chuck Palumbo (4) and Sean O’Haire (3))
1January 14, 2001Indianapolis, INSinThis title reign by Palumbo and O’Haire was the final recognized by WCW before its assets were bought by the WWF; titles renamed to WCW Tag Team Championship.

* = Rolls over from WCW World Tag Team Championship as the lineage is the same, however for the purpose of this page we only list the WWE portion of the title history.



If you have any more information to submit to this page then please get in touch with us.


Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

Latest Content

To Top