WWE Championships (Retired)

WWF International Championship

[box type=”info” align=”alignleft” ]The WWF International Championship is a former championship recognized by NWA Northeast, the World Wrestling Federation, New Japan Pro Wrestling and the Japanese UWF.
The title existed from 1959 through 1963 and again from 1982 through 1985.[/box]



7Akira Maeda1March 25, 1984New York City, NYHouse ShowMaeda defeated Pierre Lefebvre at Madison Square Garden to be recognized by WWF. He returned to UWF during April 1984 and defended it until July 23, 1984, when UWF President Hisashi Shinma jumped to All Japan Pro Wrestling, and thus UWF and the WWF split.
6Tatsumi Fujinami2August 4, 1983Tokyo, JapanHouse ShowFujinami won the match by countout but refused to accept the belt. Choshu couldn’t get into Canada for the rematch in Calgary, Alberta on August 12, 1983, and Fujinami was recognized as champion. Fujinami gave up the title after a double disqualification against Super Strong Machine on July 19, 1985 in Sapporo, Japan. The title was then abandoned on October 31, 1985 when New Japan and the WWF split.
5Riki Choshu1April 3, 1983Tokyo, JapanHouse Show
4Tatsumi Fujinami1August 30, 1982New York City, NYHouse Show
3Gino Brito1August 1982Buffalo, NYHouse Show
2Tony Parisi11982Buffalo, NYHouse Show
1Antonino Rocca1July 1959New York City, NYHouse ShowDefeated Buddy Rogers to become the first champion. The title was then vacated in 1963 and became inactive



If you have any images of the WWF International Championship then please get in touch with us.


Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

Latest Content

To Top