Wrestling News

New Japan Pro Wrestling Announce G1 Climax 29 Blocks

New Japan announce the twenty-man field for the G1 Climax 29.

We are only a few short weeks away from the 2019 edition of the G1 Climax tournament and this years could be the most star-studded yet.

At today’s event ‘Kizuna Road’, NJPW announced the field for the G1 Climax 29. 20 wrestlers were split into two blocks of 10 with a host of regulars, debutantes and even a few non-heavyweight competitors as well.

Block A is the most star-studded, featuring former IWGP World Heavyweight Champions Kazuchika Okada & Hiroshi Tanahashi, former IWGP Intercontinental Champions Kota Ibushi and Bad Luck Fale, former IWGP Tag Team Champions Lance Archer, EVIL and SANADA, former New Japan Cup winner Zack Sabre Jr., current IWGP Junior Heavyweight Champion and 2019 Best of The Super Juniors winner Will Ospreay and Japanese wrestling icon KENTA.

Block B is also star studded, with current IWGP Intercontinental Champion Tetsuya Naito, the recently debuted and current IWGP United States Champion Jon Moxley, current NEVER Openweight Champion Tomohiro Ishii, former NEVER Openweight Champions Hirooki Goto, Taichi and Jeff Cobb, former United States Champion Juice Robinson, former IWGP Tag Champion Toru Yani, beaten BOSJ finalist SHINGO and former IWGP Heavyweight Champion Jay White rounding off the field.

The two biggest exclusions from the tournament are veteran competitor Togi Makabe and Suzuki-gun’s leader, Minoru Suzuki.

This year’s G1 Climax begins on July 6 for the first time outside of Japan at the American Airlines Center in Dallas, Texas and concludes on August 12 at the Nippon Budokan in Tokyo. The entire G1 Climax will be available to watch live or on demand with English Commentary on NJPW World.


To Top