NJPW Dominion in Osaka-Jo Hall 2018 Results: Entire Landscape Changed For New Japan Pro Wrestling

New Japan Pro Wrestling as we know it will never be the same after the earth-shattering events that took place in Osaka-Jo Hall.

On a night where all but one of New Japan’s titles changed hands, Kenny Omega finally captured the IWGP World Heavyweight Title from Kazuchika Okada in arguably one of the greatest wrestling matches of all time. Omega won two straight falls, each with a One-Winged Angel after Okada has originally took the lead by reversing a sunset flip into a pinning combination of his own.

The finale was a true move ending with Kota Ibushi helping his long-time partner to his feet, only for The Young Bucks to appear. Omega spurned the belt originally to embrace the brothers, as only now he had all of his family by his side could he truly call himself champion. There was a small bit of intrigue however as Cody did make an appearance on the ramp but instead of making any influence on the situation, he chose to walk away.

It was a banner night for The Bucks also, as Matt and Nick Jackson won the IWGP Heavyweight Tag Team Championship on the first time of asking after moving up from junior heavyweight, beating EVIL and SANADA in an epic contest when the Bucks hit More Bang For Your Buck for the win.


There was a huge shock in the IWGP Intercontinental Title match as a darker, more dangerous Chris Jericho won the gold, beating Tetsuya Naito. Jericho jumped Naito before the bell and the two engaged in a vicious brawl around ringside before Jericho hit a vicious Codebreaker to capture the gold. He then brutalized Naito with the title and a belt post-match, before EVIL made the save.

Hiromu Takahashi became only the fourth man to win the Best of The Super Juniors and then win the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Title via his earned title shot, beating Will Ospreay in an epic encounter, finally finishing him off with the Timebomb.

Also, Michael Elgin won the NEVER Openweight Title beating Hirooki Goto and Taichi.

The Suzuki-Gun duo of El Desperado and Yoshinobu Kanemaru were the only successful champions this night as they saw off the challenge of Roppongi 3k when Desperado rolled up YOH after a Kanemura whiskey bottle shot for the win.

In non-title action, The Bullet Club trio of Cody, Marty Scurll and Hangman Page pulled off a shock win over a trio of legends in the form of Hiroshi Tanahashi, Jushin Thunder Liger and a debuting Rey Mysterio Jr. Cody got the win when he hit Crossrhodes on Liger.  Minoru Suzuki and Zack Sabre Jr. got their revenge on Toru Yano and Tomohiro Iishi when Sabre uniquely countered a Yano low blow, trapping his legs and turning into a submission for the verbal tapout as Suzuki had Iishi all tied up in an octopus stretch.

Finally, Juice Robinson got a huge win alongside David Finlay Jr beating YOSHI-HASHI and Jay White where Robinson pinned the IWGP United States Champion with Pulp Friction in the middle of the ring.

More From This Author