NJPW: World Tag League Finals 2018 Results

One of the final stops before the Tokyo Dome, New Japan crowned the winner of the 2018 World Tag League. However, it’s another pair of matches that have stolen the headlines.

In what many consider a dream match, Will Ospreay and Kota Ibushi will face off in Tokyo for the NEVER Openweight Title.  

In a number one contenders match, Ospreay beat Taichi with the Stormbreaker. This sealed his place at WrestleKingdom 13, facing the winner of the NEVER Openweight Championship match later that night. Kota Ibushi then captured the gold, defeating Hirooki Goto with a pair of Kamagoye’s.

Post-match, Ospreay came out and officially challenged Ibushi to a match on January 4, noting how this was a dream match that everyone wanted. They shook hands, confirming this match-up.

The Los Ingobernables duo of EVIL and SANADA won their second straight World Tag League tournament, defeating the reigning IWGP Heavyweight Tag Team Champions Guerrilas of Destiny, when Tama Tonga was dropped by Darkness Falls from EVIL and a moonsault by SANADA. This sealed a tag title match against The G.O.D at WrestleKingdom in the process.

However, their celebration was shortlived as The Young Bucks interrupted, stating they never got their rematch for the tag team titles, saying that they’ve got next. EVIL said they are happy to take both teams on, seemingly alluding to a three-way contest for the gold.

We also had a host a multi-man tag team contests, building towards January 4th. Kenny Omega, The Young Bucks and Marty Scurll defeated Hiroshi Tanahashi, Ryusuke Taguchi, David Finlay and Juice Robinson when Taguchi was hit with the Indytaker, as Tanahashi was neutralised with a V-Trigger.

Bullet Club got one over on The Rainmaker once again as Jay White, Bad Luck Fale and Taiji Ishimori beat Kazuchika Okada, Toru Yano and KUSHIDA when Yano fell to Fale’s Grenade. Post-match, Okada tried to get to The Switchblade only to fall victim to another B.C beatdown. Shockingly, a former CHAOS member in Togi Makabe made the save; building this unique army against the Bullet Club even further. 

Chuck Taylor continued his descent into madness as he cost his team including Beretta, Michael Elgin and Jeff Cobb against the Suzuki-Gun quartet of Minoru Suzuki, Takashi Iizuka, Lance Archer and Davey Boy Smith Jr by not only willingly getting into a striking match with Suzuki, but then hitting anyone that moved with a chair to cause the DQ, even his own partners!

Tetsuya Naito, Shingo Takagi and BUSHI ensured L.I.J had a banner night as they defeated Hangman Page, Yujiro Takahashi and Chase Owens when Owens was dropped by Naito’s Destino. 

Roppongi 3K and Tomohiro Iishi defeated El Desperado, Yoshinobu Kanemaru and Zack Sabre Jr when Iishi beat Kanemaru with the brainbuster.

Finally, Satoshi Kojima, Hiroyoshi Tenzan, Yuji Nagata and Manabu Nakanishi beat Shota Umino, Ayato Yoshida, Togi Makabe and Toa Henare when Kojima flattened Yoshida with a lariat for the win. 

More From This Author