HomeJapanese WrestlingTJPW: Princess Tag-Team Championship | Title History

TJPW: Princess Tag-Team Championship | Title History

The Princess Tag-Team Championship is the main and official tag team championship in TJPW. The tag belts have high prestige within the wrestling industry and mean a lot, especially for the Joshi wrestlers. The titles were introduced on August 12, 2017.

In order to determine the inaugural champions for the recently introduced belts, TJPW conducted a tournament that featured some of their top stars forming tag teams to compete for the newest honour they could be bestowed. After a long and hard-fought journey, two teams, the MiraClians (Shoko Nakajima and Yuka Sakazaki) and the team of Maho Kurone and Rika Tatsumi reached the finals. The MiraClians defeated Maho Kurone and Rika Tatsumi on October 12, 2017, to become the first-ever Princess Tag Team Champions.

As the inaugural champions, MiraClians had to have a strong first run to establish and bring some prestige to the Princess Tag Team Champions. To do so, they started off their run by accepting a challenge put forth by the team of Nonoko and Yuna Manase. The two teams took each other to the limit but in the end, the defending champions came out on top. The fans had readily accepted them as the top team in TJPW. Nakajima and Sakazaki cemented their dominance in the TJPW tag division by then going on to defeat two top stars, Riho and Mizuki. However, they were dethroned from the top when NEO Biishiki-Gun (Azusa Christie and Sakisama) defeated MiraClians on February 3, 2018, after a 112-day run.

TJPW: Princess Tag-Team Championship | Dramatic DDT

Becoming the new TOKYO Princess Tag Team Champions, Biishiki-Gun was destined for greatness. Only a month after winning the titles, the two Joshi wrestlers defended the belts against the team of Nodoka-Oneesan and Yuu and defeated them in dominant fashion. They were out to prove that they were equally great if not greater than the previous Princess Tag Team Champions. They were soon launched into a feud with Marika Kobashi and Mizuki who were starting to find their footing in the tag division. The entertaining feud culminated in a match for the Princess Tag Team Titles which resulted in Biishiki-Gun making their second successful title defence. However, Marika Kobashi wasn’t going to discontinue her pursuit of the Princess Tag Belts. She found a new partner in Reika Saiki and their team was named JK Muscle Sisters. They challenged the champions to a title match after a while and this time Marika Kobashi was successful. JK Muscle Sisters brought Biishiki-Gun’s 89-day reign to an end on May 3, 2018.

Marika Kobashi and Reika Saiki were ready for what was next and after only two weeks they faced Maki Itoh and Mizuki (Itoh Respect-Gun) and successfully defended the championships. However, unfortunately for JK Muscle Sisters, Marika Kobashi suffered a shoulder injury and they were forced to vacate the princess tag team championships.

TJPW: Princess Tag-Team | Dramatic DDT

On August 25, the recently formed team of Mizuki and Yuka Sakazaki titled Magical Sugar Rabbits defeated Maki Itoh and Reika Saiki to win the vacant Princess Tag Team Championship. Yuka Sakazaki had become the first wrestler to hold the Princess Tag Team Championship twice albeit with different partners Even though the team was only recently formed, it had great potential. Moreover, at the time the TJPW Tag Division was growing rapidly and the matches even started getting prominent positions on the cards of major TJPW shows. The first defence for Magical Sugar Rabbits came against the BAKURETSU Sisters two months after they won the belts. The champions were successful in defending the title against the tough challenge posed by Nodoka Tenma and Yuki Aino. The Sugar Rabbits then went on a tear after gaining their confidence. They defeated the likes of Riho, Shoko Nakajima, Yuki Kamifuku and Hikari Noa. Many of their defences were against former champions but even the top stars weren’t able to overthrow arguably the greatest tag team in TJPW history. They were the true dominant fighting champions after defending the title successfully six times, more than any other in the history of the championship. However, after 287 days as champions, they were dethroned by Neo Biishiki-Gun (Sakisama and Hyper Misao).

Neo Biishiki-Gun had to follow one of the best title reigns in TJPW history and they tried their level best to do so. This win also marked Sakisama’s second time holding the Princess Tag Team Championship. Failing to win the title in their first attempt, Neo Biishiki-Gun was successful the second time. They went on to first cement their position as champions by defeating BAKURETSU Sister as many teams prior to them had done. They then continued their reign by defeating Miu Watanabe and Miyu Yamashita for a second defence and not long after, they defeated Mina Shirakawa and Yuki Kamifuku. Their 148-day reign was ended by the team of Miu Watanabe and Rika Tatsumi (Daydream).

Princess Tag Team Championship | Dramatic DDT

Both of these competitors were first-time holders of the Princess Tag Team Championship and they showed that it didn’t matter if they had been champions before that or not. These two went on to become the longest-reigning Princess Tag Team Champions of all time crossing a year and stopping at 370 days. They defeated former Tag Champions, Princess International Champions and even a Princess of Princess Champion during their run as champions. They truly decimated the roster and went on a tear. Even though their run was long, they only successfully defended the titles four times, dropping the belts to the BAKURETSU Sisters.

Yuki Aino and Nodoka Tenma had been chasing the Princess Tag Team Championships for a long time and they finally won the belts. By the time they became champions they were already fan-favourites and no one wanted to see them lose the Championships. They were truly the top team in TJPW after winning the titles in late November. They even stayed at the top by successfully defending the titles twice bringing a lot of prestige to the belts. The BAKURETSU Sisters played an important role in raising the honour and importance of the Princess Tag Team Championships since they had for long strived for the belts and when they won it, it truly felt like a special moment for them. However, to the dismay of many fans, they recently lost the titles to Neo Biishiki-Gun (Sakisama and Mei Saint-Michel).

Sakisama currently holds the Princess Tag Team Championships and this is Sakisama’s third reign as champion.

For more wrestling content and news head on over to www.twm.news or find us on Twitter at @TWMNewz.

Zain Jafri
Zain Jafri
"Breathe with the Switchblade"

Most Popular