WWE Championships

WWE Tag Team Championship

Tag Team Championship

[box type=”info” align=”alignleft” ]The WWE Tag Team Championship was introduced in 2002. After WWE bought the bankrupt promotions of Extreme Championship Wrestling (ECW) and World Championship Wrestling (WCW), and dissolved the WCW Tag Team Championship, it split its roster into two brands, Raw and SmackDown, in a brand extension. As a result of this, WWE’s original World Tag Team Championship was designated exclusive to the Raw brand, leaving SmackDown without a Tag Team Championship. Soon afterward, a WWE Tag Team Championship was introduced onto the SmackDown brand.
In 2007, after the initiation of the ECW brand, WWE announced that the title would be shared between both brands, thus inter-brand matches could take place for the title. In 2009, the title was unified with the World Tag Team Championship and became recognized as the “Unified WWE Tag Team Championship” until August 2010 when the World Tag Team Championship was decommissioned in favor of continuing the lineage of the WWE Tag Team Championship.
The inaugural champions were Chris Benoit and Kurt Angle, who won the titles in a tournament final in October 2002.[/box]



# Superstar Reign Date Location Event Notes
45 Team Hell No
(Kane (2) and Daniel Bryan
1 September 16, 2012 Boston, MA Night of Champions
44 R-Truth and Kofi Kingston (2) 1 April 30, 2012 Dayton, OH Raw
43 Primo (2) and Epico 1 January 15, 2012 Oakland, CA House show
42 Air Boom
(Evan Bourne and Kofi Kingston)
1 August 22, 2011 Edmonton, AB Raw On November 1, 2011, WWE suspended Bourne for 30 days.
41 David Otunga (2) and Michael McGillicutty 1 May 23, 2011 Portland, OR Raw Otunga and McGillicutty won the titles under the name of The New Nexus, but the alliance disbanded during their reign.
40 Big Show (3) and Kane 1 April 19, 2011 London, England SmackDown! This matched aired on broadcast delay on April 22, 2011.
39 The Corre
(Heath Slater and Justin Gabriel)
3 February 21, 2011 Fresno, CA Raw
38 John Cena (2) and The Miz (3) 1 February 21, 2011 Fresno, CA Raw
37 The Corre
(Heath Slater and Justin Gabriel)
2 February 20, 2011 Oakland, CA Elimination Chamber
36 Santino Marella and Vladimir Kozlov 1 December 6, 2010 Louisville, KY Raw Won a Fatal 4-Way Elimination Tag Team match also featured the teams of Mark Henry & Yoshi Tatsu and The Usos (Jimmy and Jey Uso).
35 Nexus
(Heath Slater and Justin Gabriel)
1 October 25, 2010 Green Bay, WI Raw Match was won once David Otunga laid down in the center of the ring to be pinned, which he did after Wade Barrett forced him to.
34 Nexus
(John Cena and David Otunga)
1 October 24, 2010 Minneapolis, MN Bragging Rights
33 Drew McIntyre and Cody Rhodes 1 September 19, 2010 Rosemont, IL Night of Champions Won titles in a Tag Team Turmoil match also involving Jimmy and Jey Uso, Santino Marella and Vladimir Kozlov, and Evan Bourne and Mark Henry.
32 The Hart Dynasty
(David Hart Smith and Tyson Kidd)
1 April 26, 2010 Richmond, VA Raw The World Tag Team Championship was deactivated during their reign on August 16, 2010.
31 ShoMiz
(Big Show (2) and The Miz (2)
1 February 8, 2010 Lafayette, LA Raw This was a Triple Threat Elimination match also involving The Straight Edge Society (CM Punk and Luke Gallows).
30 D-Generation X
(Triple H and Shawn Michaels)
1 December 13, 2009 San Antonio, TX TLC: Tables, Ladders & Chairs This was a Tables, Ladders, and Chairs match.
29 Jeri-Show
(Chris Jericho (2) and Big Show)
1 July 26, 2009 Philadelphia, PA Night of Champions Shortly after winning the titles Edge suffered a torn Achilles tendon, which required surgery and forced him to vacate his half of the championship. Jericho was allowed to keep his title and choose a new partner; he chose Big Show at Night of Champions. WWE views this as a second reign for Jericho.
28 Edge (2) and Chris Jericho 1 June 28, 2009 Sacramento, CA The Bash This was a triple threat match also involving The Legacy (Cody Rhodes and Ted DiBiase).
27 The Colóns
(Carlito and Primo)
1 September 21, 2008 Columbus, OH SmackDown! Aired September 26. Unified with World Tag Team Championship on April 5, 2009.
26 Curt Hawkins and Zack Ryder 1 July 20, 2008 Uniondale, NY The Great American Bash This was a fatal four-way match, also featuring Jesse and Festus and Finlay and Hornswoggle.
25 John Morrison (4) and The Miz
(John Morrison formerly Johnny Nitro)
1 November 13, 2007
Wichita, KS SmackDown! Aired on November 16, 2007. The titles were shared with ECW.
24 Montel Vontavious Porter and Matt Hardy 1 August 28, 2007
Albany, NY SmackDown! Aired on August 31, 2007.
23 Deuce ‘n Domino 1 April 17, 2007
Milan, Italy SmackDown! Aired on April 20, 2007.
22 Paul London (2) and Brian Kendrick 1 May 21, 2006 Phoenix, AZ Judgment Day London & Kendrick held the titles for 11 months, making this the longest reign to date.
21 MNM
(Joey Mercury and Johnny Nitro)
3 December 27, 2005
Uncasville, CT SmackDown! Aired on December 30, 2005.
20 Batista and Rey Mysterio (4) 1 December 13, 2005
Springfield, MA SmackDown! Aired on December 16, 2005.
19 MNM
(Joey Mercury and Johnny Nitro)
2 October 25, 2005
Daly City, CA SmackDown! This was a fatal four-way match that aired October 28, also involving The Mexicools and Paul Burchill and William Regal.
18 The Legion of Doom
(Road Warrior Animal and Heidenreich)
1 July 24, 2005 Buffalo, NY The Great American Bash
17 MNM
(Joey Mercury and Johnny Nitro)
1 April 18, 2005
New York, NY SmackDown! Aired on April 21, 2005.
16 Rey Mysterio (3) and Eddie Guerrero (4) 1 February 20, 2005 Pittsburgh, PA No Way Out
15 The Basham Brothers
(Doug and Danny Basham)
2 January 11, 2005
Tampa, FL SmackDown! This was a Fatal Four-Way Elimination match aired January 13, also involving the teams of Mark Jindrak and Luther Reigns and Booker T and Eddie Guerrero.
14 Rob Van Dam and Rey Mysterio (2) 1 December 7, 2004
Greenville, SC SmackDown! Aired on December 9, 2004.
13 Kenzo Suzuki and René Duprée 1 September 7, 2004
Tulsa, OK SmackDown! Aired on September 9, 2004.
12 Billy Kidman and Paul London 1 July 6, 2004
Winnipeg, MB SmackDown! Aired on July 8, 2004.
11 The Dudleys
(Bubba Ray and D-Von Dudley)
1 June 15, 2004
Chicago, IL SmackDown! Aired on June 17, 2004.
10 Charlie Haas (3) and Rico 1 April 20, 2004
Kelowna, BC SmackDown! Aired on April 22, 2004.
9 Scotty 2 Hotty and Rikishi 1 February 3, 2004
Cleveland, OH SmackDown! Aired on February 5, 2004.
8 The Basham Brothers
(Doug and Danny Basham)
1 October 21, 2003
Albany, NY SmackDown! Aired on October 23, 2003.
7 Los Guerreros
(Eddie and Chavo Guerrero)
2 September 16, 2003
Raleigh, NC SmackDown! Aired September 18.
6 The World’s Greatest Tag Team
formerly Team Angle
(Charlie Haas and Shelton Benjamin)
2 July 1, 2003
Rochester, NY SmackDown! Aired on July 3, 2003.
5 Eddie Guerrero (2) and Tajiri 1 May 18, 2003 Charlotte, NC Judgment Day This was a ladder match. Tajiri was a replacement for an injured Chavo Guerrero.
4 Team Angle
(Charlie Haas and Shelton Benjamin)
1 February 4, 2003
Philadeplhia, PA SmackDown! Aired on February 6, 2003.
3 Los Guerreros
(Eddie and Chavo Guerrero)
1 November 17, 2002 New York, NY Survivor Series This was a triple threat elimination match also involving Kurt Angle and Chris Benoit.
2 Edge and Rey Mysterio 1 November 5, 2002 Manchester, NH SmackDown! This was a two out of three falls match. Aired on November 7, 2002.
1 Kurt Angle and Chris Benoit 1 October 20, 2002 North Little Rock, AR No Mercy Defeated Edge and Rey Mysterio in a tournament final to become the first inaugural champions.




Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

To Top