HomeArticlesWWF Women's Tag Team Championship

WWF Women’s Tag Team Championship

[box type=”info” align=”alignleft” ]When Velvet McIntyre and Princess Victoria joined the WWF in 1983, they already held the NWA Women’s Tag Team Championship. The WWF, however, had since withdrawn from the National Wrestling Alliance, who owned the championships, and McIntyre and Victoria were instead recognized as the first WWF Women’s Tag Team Champions.
On January 5, 2012, WWE.com ran an article supporting bringing back the Women’s Tag Team Titles.[/box]



VacatedFebruary 14, 1989The title was abandoned in 1989.
5The Glamour Girls2June 8, 1988Omiya, JapanHouse ShowWon the title by countout.
4Jumping Bomb Angels
(Noriyo Tateno and Itsuki Yamazaki)
1January 24, 1988Hamilton, OntarioRoyal RumbleThis was a two out of three falls match.
3The Glamour Girls
(Leilani Kai and Judy Martin)
1August 1985EgyptHouse Show
2Velvet McIntyre (2) and Desiree Petersen1December 7, 1984Pittsburgh, PennsylvaniaHouse ShowPrincess Victoria suffered a career-ending neck injury on September 1, 1984 in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Petersen took her place as McIntyre’s partner.
1Velvet McIntyre and Princess Victoria1May 13, 1983Calgary, AlbertaMcIntyre and Victoria were the reigning NWA Women’s World Tag Team Champions upon the WWF’s withdrawal from the National Wrestling Alliance and were recognized as the first WWF champions. They had defeated Joyce Grable and Wendi Richter. The team’s first match in the WWF took place on April 4, 1984 in Rochester, New York.



If you have any more images of the WWF Women’s Tag Team Championship then please get in touch with us.


Most Popular